Youmee

post-thumb

Youmee was once my favourite pan asian restaurant this side of the city. How does the delivery version stack up against their in person dining?

Order

A Chicken ramen for 600 INR, 8 pieces new york cheese and chilli oil for INR 675, Honey Chilli Chicken for 395 INR, Thai Style Basil Vegetables for 550 INR, Wok Tossed Noodles for INR 350 and Sticky Rice for INR 285.

Packaging

Youmee excelled in packaging their food. Everything used paper containers, so that’s always a plus. Nothing leaked, and the food stayed relatively warm! The amount of tape used ensured everything stayed intact, but was painful to unravel.

Cheese and Chilli Oil

These are absolutely divine. Cheese in dimsum? Well I had my doubts until I got addicted. Soft, succulent new york cheese with green chillies embedded and a wonderful flavour. Served with mildly spicy chilli oil, you have an amazing dish. I recommend the 8 pack because of how quickly these will disappear.

My complaint is that with the delivery order they were rather stingy with the chilli oil, so I’d recommend asking for more.

Honey Chilli Chicken

I needed a starter, and this one seemed highly rated. I thoroughly enjoyed it. A different flavour profile to your honey chilli potato, this one was more savoury. The sweetness was less prevalent, with the chilli and the natural salty flavour of the chicken coming through. A wonderfully balanced dish , I do wish that there was a bit more sweet but otherwise still an excellent dish. The chicken was well cooked and crispy.

Thai Basil Vegetable with Sticky RIce and Noodles

The thai basil didn’t come with any rice or noodles. So we ordered their plain sticky rice and their veg hakka noodles.

Sticky Rice

Self explanatory, the rice was great but the quantity was dismal. Also the rice was a little overcooked for sticky rice. For the price, maybe more quantity and better rice ?

Noodles

Noodles were okay. I think the vegetables chosen were great and well cooked. The noodles weren’t too spicy and had a great flavour. They were tangy and tasted like typical hakka noodles. I will say that their noodles are a little thicker, and do provide more of a chew. I personally don’t mind but some people are affected by their thicker noodles.

Thai Basil

I think this one is just meh. I love the strong basil flavour that comes through in this dish, given basil tends to get overpowered in most. However, other than the basil, the chilli is non existent. The flavour as a whole is lackluster and tastes more like a soup. Imagine just salt, basil and very minimal chilli in a liquid gravy. Add to that vegetables that soak up the soup and you have yourselves a bland dish. Not a fan.

Chicken Ramen

I was curious as to how youmee would ship the ramen. I was delighted when the noodles, the accompaniments and the soup all came separate. It let me have the luxury of not having to eat out of a cooking vessel, given none of my bowls were large enough. I got a tub of spicy chicken broth, a tub full of noodles which also contained my chicken, vegetables and an egg.

I split mine into 2 portions, and started dipping in. I was blown away by the quantity. Although the price was high, the quantity provided was great. It’s a full meal for one. I love the ramen broth. For the first time in the youmee meal, did I finally get the spice. The broth was an explosion of flavour. The rich bamboo, the twang of spice, the juicy chicken in the background. As far as ramen broths go, this was magnificent.

The green leafy vegetable and the bambo shoot were fine. The boiled egg with the liquid yolk was a delight, truly a wonderful cook on the egg. In the ramen the noodles were youmee’s thicker noodles with a nice grilled chicken. The chicken was well cooked, and had a nice char. Overall as a combo, I do feel like the chicken and vegetable accompaniments were rather low relative to the noodles and broth. Towards the end I just got maggi cup noodle vibes. I definitely needed more meat or vegetables.

Overall

I think youmee has excellent food. I think their ramen, sushi, dimsum and more are usually good. I will say that it isn’t great from a value perspective but otherwise you get amazing asian food. Definitely up there in Bangalore’s best asain.

You Mee Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
comments powered by Disqus