Soda Bottle Opener Wala

post-thumb

Can Soda Bottle Opener Wala make Parsi food more accessible to the Indian masses with their value for money combos?

Order

I love soda bottle opener wala, so I was extremely intrigued when I found out that they launched value combos. A restaurant like Soda Bottle Opener Wala normally caters to a more affluent audience, and I wanted to try the budget option. The option in of itself isn’t budget, INR 469 for the Chicken Berry Pulao Combo with a salad and a chicken starter. I couldn’t resist their raspberry soda for INR 145.

Kachumbar Salad

Rather simple. A simple salad of onion, tomato, cucumber and spices. Although the dressing was simple: squeezed lemon with some spices. I think the simplicity was great, and I also felt the quantity was sufficient.

Chicken Farcha

Boneless chicken fried with a semolina coating. This was fantastic, I think the nice simplistic blend of spices really complimented the well cooked chicken. The moist, succulent chicken with the spicy paste all wrapped in a wonderful crispy package. I will say the pappad that came with the dish wasn’t the most crispy, but that could be attributed to the extremely large delivery distance.

Chicken Berry Pulao

I keep going back to Soda Bottle Opener for this. The dish is simply perfect. Almost like a biryani, you have fluffy white rice on the top with the saucy meat at the bottom. I think the dish delivers on so many levels, you have sweet, savory and spice. The bottom chicken is boneless, cooked in a wonderful tangy tomato sauce. This sauce is neither too thick nor to thin and mixes well to coat the rice. The chicken is moist and soft, and easy to chew. The white rice has berries mixed in. Each bite has the wonderful acidity and tartness of the berries, balanced with the spicy and tango chicken cooked in the tomato. I think the ratio of berries to spicy chicken to rice is perfect. I could eat this all day.

Raspberry Soda

Another favorite of mine. Soda Bottle Opener Wala doesn’t cheap out with the raspberry, so you have soda with the tart and sweet raspberry. The beverage is fizzy, sweet and sour. I think the quantity is great.

Final Thoughts

I think this meal was great value. Salad, four pieces of chicken and a pretty hefty amount of berry pulao. The raspberry soda is also a great price for 145. I think soda bottle opener wala is a must-try. The berry pulao combo and other dishes are reasonably priced, yet deliver a fresh new cuisine. Special kudos to them for using 0 plastic, including paper tape, glass bottles, wooden straws and paper containers. 5 stars from me.

SodaBottleOpenerWala Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
comments powered by Disqus