Kebab Korner

post-thumb

Is bangalore’s popular kebab korner all that cracked up to be? Can they stand out in the competitive roll market?

Order

I had a rather simple order. A Paneer Roomali Roll for INR 219 and a Chilli Aloo Dry for INR 225. Straight off the bat, this felt expensive but I wanted to try the place after hearing such glowing reviews.

Packaging

It was alright I guess. The sauces that came were wrapped in bags, the roll in aluminium foil. A plastic container housed the chilli aloo. It was simple, but that’s expected.

Dry Chilli Aloo

Absolutely disgusting. The potato in of itself was undercooked slightly. What made the dish revolting was the lack of flavour. They rubbed some bland chilli paste on their substandard potatoes. No hints spicy, salty, sweet or any smattering of flavour. This was thrown in the trash, because its inedible and irredeemable. I don’t often use such heated language, but this is the worst chilli potato I’ve ever tasted. Should be taken off the menu.

Paneer Kathi Roll

The famous kathi roll was mediocre. The paneer was great, soft and creamy. The paneer marinade was a light orange thin gravy, with a pleasant masala flavour. The creamy marinade was great. The fluffy, thin roomali roti was perfect. The con was value, at INR 220 I expected a decently sized roll. It was extremely thin, the diameter of the roll as well as the height were not at all what I expected. Not great value. I was also disappointed with the overall flavour, there was no tanginess or spice in the roll. You had an overall lacklustre roll. Using the provided onion and chutney do make up for these shortcomings, but they can overpower.

Conculsion

I’m disappointed. Kebab Korner was once a place with great food at banging prices. I guess the pandemic and the food delivery world have thrown them off. I hope they can bounce back, because a meh roll and garbage potatoes aren’t satisfactory. Especially at the prices they charge. I wouldn’t recommend it. I would love to give them another shot!

Kabab Korner Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
comments powered by Disqus