Amerikhani

post-thumb

Can this up and coming fast food place with fresh new flavours compete with the behmoth that is truffles? How does it’s desi-american food stack up?

Order

I ordered 3 starters and 2 burgers. In terms of starters I got the 190 INR Jalapeno Cheese Poppers, the Loaded Cheese On Cheese fries for 199 INR, and the chicken nuggets for 230 INR. In terms of the main course I got a large poultry geist burger with the charcoal bun for INR 349 along with a regular shroom-shroom with the charcoal bun for INR 225. For dessert I got the cinnamon churros for 180 INR. All Home delivered.

Packaging

I think they did a great job. The burgers were wrapped in paper, inside a cardboard box . The sides came in simple foil containers. Everything was well sealed. Each sauce was packed in a little sauce container. There was no leakage and everything stayed warm.

Chicken Nuggets

The chicken nuggets were okay. The chicken was well cooked and moist, not chewy. The coating on the nuggets wasn’t as thick or plentiful as it should have been. As a person who champions well coated crispy nuggets I would have liked a thicker coating. The nuggets also came with two dipping sauces. I loved these sauces. I personally chose the hot buffalo sauce and it didn’t disappoint. I also got an extra garlic-hung curd sauce? That was also great and a welcome addition.

Jalapeno Cheese Poppers

These were disappointing. Despite an amazing well breaded panko breadcrumb crust, the lacklustre contents weren’t great. The poppers should have been full, or maybe 75% full of gooey cheese. Biting into one, I should get the feeling of my teeth sinking into a cheese cushion. All I got was a smattering of a dry jalapenos and cheese. It was neither spicy nor decadent. Given there were only 5 balls included, they definitely could have put more stuffing. The Kansas bbq sauce was good.

Loaded Cheese on Cheese Fries

What the jalapeno poppers lacked decadence, the fries made up for. These were dripping with cheese. The crispy fries were coated with several types of cheese and other fat (mayo, cheddar, cheese sauce, mozzarella). All the cheese combines together to create a rich, sticky coating for the fries. The dish all together is amazing, because the crispy onions add crunch and saltiness to the fries. The mango habanero sauce shines, as it helps cut through the fat. The mango habanero is super tangy and adds a wonderful flavour to the overall dish. I really can’t recommend this one enough.

Poultry Geist

An interesting chicken burger for sure. The first thing that jumps out is the sheer size. The bun struggles to contain the sheer volume of the filling. The filling consisted of a hash brown, fried chicken , fried egg, onion and pickles. My burger’s hash brown was actually a potato patty, but the patty was great nevertheless. Potato with traditional Indian spices, reminiscent of a typical aloo patty. The egg was disgusting, and I’m not a huge fan of deep fried and bland egg inside a burger. The star was the chicken. A giant piece of well crusted fried chicken, that was tender on the inside. The chicken was well salted, and had a nice bite to it. All in all the burger with the egg removed tasted great. The sauce mix was tangy and flavourful. I do wish they had added more pickles, given they were rather stingy with those. The potato and the chicken worked well together. The charcoal bun definitely helps by adding a subtle smoky flavour. Great burger (minus the egg).

Shroom-Shroom

This was the best mushroom burger I have eaten. This one trumped the shroomburger at shake-shack which really surprised me. The same charcoal buns contained a flavour explosion. The patty was simple, nice gooey and soft mushrooms held together by egg and cheese. This was fried and coated. On top of that you had soft creamy mushrooms. The overall mouthfeel was great as you chewed through the differing mushroom layers. What really shone though, were the flavour pairings. The tomato salsa added a breath of freshness and acidity to the overall burger. The onion jam was richer and added that sweetness everyone loves with caramelized onions. I really liked this burger, and would definitely get it again.

Cinnamon Churros

Cinnamon? All I got were sugar churros. The churros were great. Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. The chocolate dipping sauce had a great consistency, and although it could have been sweeter it was enjoyable. The churros had no cinnamon, and that was my biggest gripe. The cinnamon sugar, was just normal sugar. I couldn’t taste cinnamon at all, and I think churros need cinnamon. I definitely think they should increase the amount of cinnamon inside their cinnamon sugar coating.

No photo

Overall

I think amerikhani is great. I think the more nuanced flavours, are a refreshing break from the more traditional flavour of competing restaurants. The value is great, given you get actually well balanced dishes with great quantity for a modest price. Definitely worth it!

Amerikhani Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
comments powered by Disqus